First and foremost, you must understand what a hard reset is. A factory reset, also known as a hard reset, restores your phone to the state it was in when you first bought it. This means that your iPhone 11 or iPhone 11 Pro will be formatted and all data stored on it will be completely erased during the process.

How to Hard Reset iPhone 7, 8, X, 12


1. iPhone Hard Reset: Reset from device

  • Click on “Settings” and then on “General”.
  • Scroll to the bottom of the General tab and click “Reset”.
  • Tap “Erase All Content and Settings”.
  • Enter your passcode (if you have set one) and confirm the reset by tapping “Erase iPhone”.
  • Your device should give you an estimate of how long this process takes. Depending on how many apps you have, it could be anywhere from a few moments to an hour or more. During this time, the device is completely inoperable.
  • Once done, your phone will be as good as new. This is something you should do if you ever give or sell your phone to someone else as it deletes all your information.

Soft Reset iPhone X / XS / 12 (no Home button)


  • With the new iPhone X, XS, XS Max and XR, the side button, when held down longer, actually activates Siri.
  • This means that to soft reset the iPhone, you will need to:
  • Press the volume up or down button.
  • At the same time, press the sleep / wake button.
  • Press and hold until you see the screen above, then swipe to turn off your phone. (Do not hold it for more than 5 seconds as it will activate SOS mode on your phone)

Hard Reset iPhone: Restore from iTunes


  • You may want to simply restore using a backup of your device so that you can keep your settings, emails and apps. This process involves a few more steps, but it’s still quite simple.
  • Connect your iPhone to the computer with its cable and allow iTunes to start. You will see a button for your phone appear under “Devices”At the top left of the screen. This lets you know that the phone is properly connected and recognized. Select the button.
  • If iTunes is set to sync automatically when the device is connected, it will start transferring data right away. This is a very important step to save all the newly added content, including the songs or apps you have purchased and the photos you have saved.
  • If iTunes doesn’t automatically start syncing, do it manually now. Press the “Synchronize” button in the lower right corner of the “Summary”Located in the left pane in iTunes.
  • Once the sync is complete, go back to the information page within iTunes. In the center of the main window you will see two buttons. Click on the “Restore” button.
  • After doing that, iTunes will warn you that restoring your iPhone to factory settings will erase all media and data. If you have already synced successfully, simply click the “Reset” button again to begin the process.
  • As soon as you click the “Reset”For the second time, iTunes will automatically start the process.
  • You will see several different messages on the screen where iTunes tells you things, such as that it is extracting the software needed to restore your device. You’ll see things like a message that it’s also been verified with Apple.
  • DO NOT disconnect your phone from the computer during this process.
  • iTunes will tell you when your phone has finished restoring, but you’re not done yet! You need to reset the settings and sync everything on the device. Let the iPhone reboot after the reset.
  • You may then see a message saying it needs to be activated – just wait a moment and it will tell you that the process has finished.
    On the iTunes screen, you will see two options: “Set up as a new iPhone” or “Restore from a backup”.
  • If you want to restore your settings, emails, contacts and other information, obviously choose the option “Restore from a backup“. Select your iPhone name from the drop-down menu on the right side of the screen.
  • After clicking the button, iTunes will restore all the settings and files that were backed up earlier in this process. This will probably take several minutes – make sure you don’t unplug your phone during this time.

As soon as everything is restored on the iPhone, it will restart again. If iTunes isn’t set up to sync automatically, do it again now manually. This step is crucial – that’s when all your files, apps, music and the like will be transferred back to the iPhone.